Manor Lodge Toddington
Manor Lodge about 1920 [Z1306/126]
Toddington Manor Lodge was listed by the former Department of the Environment in 1980 as Grade II, of special interest. Built in the late 19th or early 20th century the Lodge is faced in roughcast with an old clay tile roof. To the front it has a circular bay with a Venetian window and a gabled tile porch.
The Rating and Valuation Act 1925 specified that every building and piece of land in the country was to be assessed to determine its rateable value. In 1926 the Lodge was owned, with Toddington Manor, by Charles Ireland and occupied by A. E. Martin at a rent of ten shillings per week. This stucco and slate detached house had a living room and kitchen downstairs, two bedrooms upstairs, and an earth closet outside [DV1/C82/151].
When the Lodge was put up for sale together with the Manor House in 1977 it was described as "a picturesque gabled, brick, rough cast and tiled dwelling". It appears to have been extended since 1926 as the accommodation now included on the ground floor an entrance hall, a sitting room, a dining room, a kitchen with a Rayburn, and a bathroom & WC. On the first floor there were now three bedrooms and an airing cupboard, and outside the house was a well-kept and mature garden [X994/14].
Manor Lodge March 2016