Old Warden Village Hall
Old Warden Village Hall September 2007
The Village Hall was built in 1901 by Frank Shuttleworth and was previously called the Reading Room. It was listed by the former Department of Environment as Grade II, of special interest and was described as "Picturesque Tudor style". It is a high red brick plinth, with an exterior of pebbledash render with applied timber framing and a clay tile roof.
In 1927 the dwellings of Old Warden were valued under the Rating Valuation Act 1925; every piece of land and building in the country was assessed to determine the rates to be paid on it. The valuer visiting the hall [DV1/C34/56] found it owned by the Shuttleworth Estate and tenanted by the Women's Institute as their own hall. The building then stood in three quarters of an acre and comprised the hall itself, a scullery, cloak room and earth closet. It measured 69 feet by 20 feet and was: "Quite nice Hall. Given by the Estate who pay rates".