Skip Navigation
 
 

Welcome to Bedford Borough Council

Home > Community archives > Wilstead > 16a Luton Road Wilshamstead

16a Luton Road Wilshamstead

16a Luton Road March 2012
16a Luton Road March 2012

16a Luton Road is a charming thatched cottage. It was listed by the former Department of Environment in June 1974. the cottage dates from the late 18th century with, as the listing says, “19th century cottage ornée additions”. It is a timber-framed building with colourwashed roughcast rendering and thatched roofs. It comprises one storey and attics and originally had just two rooms on the ground floor. There is a later single storey lean-to addition on the south-east wall with what is known as a Gothic Revival arched windows with wooden tracery

The Rating and Valuation Act 1925 specified that every building and piece of land in the country was to be assessed to determine its rateable value. Like most of the county, Wilshamstead was largely assessed in 1927 and the valuer visiting the cottage [DV1/C66/50] found that it was owned and occupied by M. H. Geere and was then called Burnside.

Accommodation comprised two reception rooms, a kitchen and a lean-to pantry with two bedrooms in the attics. The valuer also noted: “sitting room: ?was conservatory” and commented: “Lovely”. Other comments were: “Very nice. Week end type but only two bedrooms” and “Country Cottage”.

Kelly’s Directory lists the occupant of Burnside in 1928 and in 1931. In 1928 it was still M. H. Geere but by 1931 it was George William Abbott.