Skip Navigation

Welcome to Bedford Borough Council

Home > Community Histories > Goldington > Lincoln Arms Public House Goldington

Lincoln Arms Public House Goldington

Goldington Hall June 2017
Goldington Hall June 2017

The Lincoln Arms Public House: Goldington Hall, Church Lane

Goldington Hall was acquired by Bedford Borough Council after World War Two. In 1972 the borough sold the Hall to brewers Bass Charrington, which undertook substantial alterations, opening the property as The Falstaff Public House in October that year. It was later renamed the Lincoln Arms.

In 2006 plans were prepared to convert the former pub into fourteen flats with other buildings in the grounds. On 23rd January 2008, however, a serious fire broke out. A preservation trust then rebuilt and restored the building and in 2014 was for sale, now [2017] being a private house.


  • PSB9/2: register of alehouse licenses: c. 1955-1995
  • BorBTP/77/1319/LB: alterations to form a beer store: 1977;
  • BorBTP/88/3009/LB: demolition of beer store and erection of replacement: 1988.

Licensees: Note that this is not a complete list; italics indicate licensees whose beginning and/or end dates are not known:

1972-1974: Frank King, Philip Lingard Camac Mellor and William Gordon Kinrade;
1974-1975: Anthony Gray Freeland and William Gordon Kinrade;
1975-1976: Anthony Marvin Howard-Tripp and Roger Michael Glew;
1976-1978: Anthony Marvin Howard-Tripp and John Michael Rout;
1978-1979: Anthony Mervin Howard-Tripp and John Martin Barden;
1979-1980: Andrew John Farquharson and John Martin Barden;
1980: Andrew John Farquharson;
1980-1981: Andrew John Farquharson and Brian Alan Hillyard;
1981-1983: William George Hummerston and Brian Alan Hillyard;
1983-1984: Gary Frederick Styles and Terence Raymond James;
1984-1985: Philip Lingard Camac Mellor and Terence Raymond James;
1985-1987: Clive Paul Jackson and Philip Mark Easton;
1987-1989: Neil Paine and Clive Stewart Young;
1989: Derek Roy Dellow and John Edward Kinsay;
1989-1991: Graham Roger Mathers and Ian Dawson Jones;
1991-1992: Boris Marcow and Mervyn Crisp;
1992-1993: Andrea Jane Wray and Catherine Sara O'Neill;
1993-1995: Catherine Sara O'Neill