Roxton Park Lodge
Roxton Park Lodge in 1960 [Z53/97/4]
Roxton Park Lodge is a picturesque little building which used to be well known as it stood on the main road, the A428, between Bedford and the A1. This road has now been bypassed. The lodge was listed by the former Department of Environment in August 1983 as Grade II, of special interest. The department dated the property to the early 19th century, perhaps about the time the rear pile of Roxton Park itself was being constructed. The work would have been carried out for then Lords of the Manor, the Metcalfe family.
Roxton Park Lodge - rear view March 2010
The main block of the lodge is constructed from colour washed roughcast, the southern block of colour washed brick. The building has a thatched roof, a single storeyed, octagonal plan with a rectangular block to the south and is built in cottage ornée style.
Roxton Park Lodge March 2010
The Rating and Valuation Act 1925 specified that every building and piece of land in the country was to be assessed to determine its rateable value. Roxton, like most of Bedfordshire, was assessed in 1927 and the valuer visiting the Lodge [DV1/A12/1a] found it owned by Fred Bath, owner, as one might expect, of Roxton Park, and occupied by A. T. Sugars., who had paid rent of 1/6 per week for four years. The “Poor place” comprised a parlour, a kitchen and two bedrooms.
Roxton Park March 2010