Cottages at the Junction of Woburn Lane and Spinney Lane Aspley Guise
Cottages at the junction of Woburn Lane and Spinney Lane July 2010
These cottages, one of which is  called Belle Vue are of an interesting architectural style, almost Flemish in look,and unique in Aspley Guise. The Rating and Valuation Act 1925 specified that every building and piece of land in the country was to be assessed as to its rateable value. Aspley Guise was assessed in 1927. The valuer visiting the cottages noted that they were owned by Charles Barnwell. One was occupied by Mrs. Susan Smith, the other by Miss E. M. Smith. Both tenants paid 2/8 per week (it had been 2/3 per week in 1914) for identical accommodation.
The cottages each comprised a living room and coal cellar downstairs with two bedrooms above. A w. c. stood outside. Mains water and drainage was laid on. The valuer commented: "Bad row, Crowded in" and "Very Small, no garden".