Skip Navigation

Welcome to Bedford Borough Council

Woburn Poor Law Union

This Union comprised the following parishes: Aspley Guise; Aspley Heath; Battlesden; Chalgrave; Eversholt; Harlington; Hockliffe; Hulcote; Husborne Crawley; Milton Bryan; Potsgrove; Ridgmont; Salford; Tilsworth; Tingrith; Toddington; Woburn

Woburn Poor Law Union was dissolved in 1899 and the majority of parishes transferred to Ampthill Poor Law Union - with Chalgrave, Hockliffe and Tilsworth being transferred instead to Leighton Buzzard Poor Law Union.There is more information about the Woburn Union Workhouse here.

LEDGERS (PUWL): 1835-1891 with gaps 

MINUTES (PUWM) : 1835-1840, 1843-1902. The five later volumes are indexed online:

COMMITTEE MINUTES (PUWMC): School Attendance Committee (1877-1899) for non School Board controlled schools