Skip Navigation

Welcome to Bedford Borough Council

Home > Community Histories > Bedford > Borough of Bedford > Local Government Reorganisation 1974

Local Government Reorganisation 1974

As a result of local government re-organisation, the Mayor elected in 1973 held office from the 17th April 1973 until the 31st March 1974 only. With effect from the 1st April 1974 Bedford was amalgamated with the areas formerly administrated by Kempston Urban District Council and Bedford Rural District Council to form Bedford District. The office of Mayor was continued by the election of a Town Mayor by the Charter Trustees of the town of Bedford, a body constituted by the Local Government Act 1972, in former Boroughs to undertake mainly civic duties. At this time Gilbert Cecil White Beazley was appointed separately as Chairman of the District Council until the 16th October 1975, when his office became that of Mayor upon the status of a Borough being conferred by Charter on the District. With approval also being given for change of name, the District became known as North Bedfordshire Borough. Upon the conferment of Borough status, the Charter Trustees of the Town of Bedford were dissolved. In 1992, the Borough Council changed its name from North Bedfordshire to Bedford.